Headquarters Department of Illinois



Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil Mar

Department Order No. 1 Series 2024-25

> PO Box 2069 Hammond, IN 46323 May 20, 2024

To the officers and members of the Department of Illinois, Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War:

It is with a feeling akin to reverence that I accept the honor conferred upon me by the 141st Annual Encampment of the Department of Illinois held at Aurora on May 18, 2024. In electing me Department Commander, and while this honor is deeply appreciated, I realize that it carries with it great responsibilities, which I pledge myself to do all in my power to fulfill.

However, the success of our organization and its strength lies in the individual member. A Department Commander, regardless of his willingness or ability to serve, is helpless without the wholehearted cooperation of every individual member of the Organization. In assuming command of the Department of Illinois, Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War, I pledge to you my earnest efforts to further the success of the organization; and in return I ask of every member his heartiest cooperation in whatever way he is best suited. Even if what he may be doing seems small, if it is part of the teamwork of the organization, it will help his Camp and this Department achieve greatness. I see remarkable things happening in the Department this coming year and I look forward to sharing in your successes as we achieve the goals of the Order.

Headquarters is hereby moved to and established at Richton Park, IL. All mail intended for the Department Commander can be sent to PO Box 2069, Hammond, IN 46323. Email correspondence should be directed to bwelch.suvcwil@gmail.com.

The following officers were elected at the Department Encampment to serve for the ensuing year:

Commander: Bobby Welch, PCC, PVT Henry M Hardenbergh Camp No. 39

Sr. Vice Commander: Michael Zafran, PCC, General Philip H Sheridan Camp No. 2

Jr. Vice Commander: Jeff Kaup, PCC, Old Glory Camp No. 6165

Secretary: Don Sherman, PCC, General George A. Custer Camp No. 1

Treasurer: Lee Lasseigne, PCC, General Philip H Sheridan Camp No. 2

Council Member: Wayne Wehrheim

Council Member: Richard Hoovler, John A Logan Camp No. 26 Council Member: Joseph Kessler, PCC, General John A. McClernand Camp No. 4 Delegates to the National Encampment:

- 1: Steven Westlake, PDC
- 2: Michael Zafran, PCC
- 3: Jerome Kowalski
- 4: Lee Lasseigne, PCC
- 5: Raymond Limbach
- 6: Wayne Wehrheim
- 7: Ryan Higginbotham
- 8: James Lyon, PDC
- 9: Bobby Welch, PCC

All brothers in the department were elected as Alternates; should a brother want to attend the National Encampment please let the Department Secretary know so he can get a credential card for you.

The Department Commander has made the following appointments:

Camp Organizer: Nick Kaup, PDC, Old Glory Camp No. 6165 Chaplain: Jerry Kowalski, General Philip H Sheridan Camp No. 2 Color Bearer: Stephen Ashby, PVT Henry M Hardenbergh Camp No. 39 Counselor: Harry Reineke IV, PDC, General Philip H Sheridan Camp No. 2 GAR Records Officer: Brian Conroy, General Philip H Sheridan Camp No. 2 Graves Registration Officer: Andy Partak, PVT Henry M Hardenbergh Camp No. 39 Guard: Timothy Marcus, PVT Henry M Hardenbergh Camp No. 39 Historian: Raymond Limbach, PVT Henry M Hardenbergh Camp No. 39 Patriotic Instructor: Gerald Sonnenberg, Col. Friedrich K. Hecker Camp No. 443 Aide to the Commander: Timothy Marcus, PVT Henry M Hardenbergh Camp No. 39 Chief of Staff: Ryan Higginbotham, PVT Henry M Hardenbergh Camp No. 39 Civil War Memorials Officer: Lorenzo Fiorentino, Old Glory Camp No. 6165 Fraternal Relations Officer: Leigh Franklin, PCC, U.S. Grant Camp No. 1863 GAR Highway Officer: Brian Conroy, General Philip H Sheridan Camp No. 2
Department Quartermaster: William Johnson, John A. Logan Camp No. 26
ROTC Coordinator: Nick Kaup, PDC, Old Glory Camp No. 6165
Eagle Scout Coordinator: Matthew Clark, General Philip H Sheridan Camp No. 2
Signals Officer: Bobby Welch, PCC, PVT Henry M Hardenbergh Camp No. 39
Real Sons Liaison: Joseph Hutchinson, PCC, Colonel John C. Bryner Camp No. 67
Assistant Dept. Secretary: Robert Kurek, US Grant Camp No. 1863

The Standing Committee Appointments are as follows:

Bylaws Committee:	Micheal Zafran, PCC, General Philip H Sheridan Camp No. 2
	Don Sherman, PCC, General George A. Custer Camp No. 1
	Harry Reineke IV, PDC, General Philip H Sheridan Camp No. 2
Membership Committee:	Jeff Kaup, PCC, Old Glory Camp No. 6165
	All Camp Junior Vice Commanders
Nominating Committee:	Steven Westlake, PDC, General Philip H Sheridan Camp No. 2
	Joseph Hutchinson, PCC, Colonel John C. Bryner Camp No. 67
	Gerald Sonnenberg, Col. Friedrich K. Hecker Camp No. 443
Credentials Committee:	Nick Kaup, PDC, Old Glory Camp No. 6165
	Steven Westlake, PDC, General Philip H Sheridan Camp No. 2
	Jim Lyons, PDC, E. F. Dutton Camp No. 49
Department Encampment	
Site Committee:	Jim Lyons, PDC, E. F. Dutton Camp No. 49
	Nick Kaup, PDC, Old Glory Camp No. 6165
	Steven Westlake, PDC, General Philip H Sheridan Camp No. 2
Stephenson Plaza	
Committee:	Jim Lyons, PDC, E. F. Dutton Camp No. 49
	Nick Kaup, PDC, Old Glory Camp No. 6165
	Stuart Stefany, PDC, General George A. Custer Camp No. 1
	Steven Westlake, PDC, General Philip H Sheridan Camp No. 2
	William Johnson, John A. Logan Camp No. 26

Tom Oestreicher, PDC, E. F. Dutton Camp No. 49 Bobby Welch, PCC, PVT Henry M Hardenbergh Camp No. 39

In Fraternity Charity and Loyalty

bby Welch, PCC

Brother Bobby Welch, PCC Department Commander Department of Illinois Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War

Attest: Donald W. Sherman PCC

Brother Don Sherman, PCC Department Secretary